Skip to page content

Krzysztof Penderecki


About this Artist

Born: 1933, Debica, Poland

“I have spent decades searching for and discovering new sounds. At the same time, I have closely studied the forms, styles and harmonies of past eras. I have continued to adhere to both principles … my current creative output is a synthesis.”

Penderecki began piano and violin studies at an early age, and at first wanted to become a virtuoso violinist. After studying composition at the conservatory in Krakow, however, he quickly won many prizes for his innovative string textures, which established him as a leading European modernist. His music ranges from works on tape to opera and film scores, and he has won, among others, the Grawemeyer Award for his Symphony No. 4 and a Grammy for Best Contemporary Classical Composition for his Violin Concerto No. 2.

Further listening:
Threnody for the Victims of Hiroshima(string orchestra, 1960)Polish Radio Symphony Orchestra,Krzysztof Penderecki (EMI Classics)

Violin Concerto No. 2, “Metamorphosen”(1992-1995) Anne-Sophie Mutter,London Symphony Orchestra, Penderecki (DG)