Skip to page content
  • HB
  • Casting News for THE PRODUCERS at the Hollywood Bowl
  • May. 29, 2012

    Casting News for THE PRODUCERS at the Hollywood Bowl
    Three performances only -- July 27, 28 and 29, 2012
    Hollywood Bowl production to star
    Richard Kind and Jesse Tyler Ferguson
    Rebecca Romijn, Gary Beach, and Roger Bart also confirmed
    Direction and Choreography by Susan Stroman

    Musical Director Kevin Stites
    Single tickets now available

    May 30, 2012 --- The Hollywood Bowl’s production of the Broadway smash hit THE PRODUCERS will star Richard Kind as Max Bialystock and Jesse Tyler Ferguson as Leo Bloom.

    Kind most recently starred opposite Dustin Hoffman in the HBO series “Luck.” His Broadway credits include “The Producers,” “Dirty Rotten Scoundrels” and “The Tale of the Allergist’s Wife.” His best-known television work is from the shows “Spin City” and “Mad About You.” Kind has guest-starred on numerous other shows, including “Scrubs” and “Curb Your Enthusiasm.”

    Ferguson is best known for his portrayal of Mitchell Pritchett on the hit ABC sitcom "Modern Family," for which he has received two Emmy nominations. Additional television credits include "The Class," "Do Not Disturb" and "Ugly Betty." On stage he created the role of Leaf Coneybear in the Tony Award-winning Broadway musical “The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee” and starred in the Public Theater/ Shakespeare in the Park productions of “A Midsummer Night's Dream,” “Merchant of Venice,” “A Winter's Tale” and “On the Town” (in which he made his NYC debut).

    Kind and Ferguson are joined by Rebecca Romijn, Gary Beach, and Roger Bart. Rebecca Romijn, who stars on the Adult Swim show “NTSF:SD:SVU,” which returns for season 2 this summer, and is known for her role as Mystique in the “X-Men” films and her recurring role as Alexis Meade on the television series “Ugly Betty,” plays Ulla. Tony Award winning Broadway veterans Gary Beach and Roger Bart, who both starred in the original production of “The Producers” as well as the 2005 film adaptation, will recreate their roles of Roger De Bris and Carmen Ghia for the Hollywood Bowl production. Beach won the Tony Award for Best Featured Actor in a Musical for his portrayal of Roger De Bris. Roger Bart won the Tony Award for Best Featured Actor in a Musical for his performance in “You're a Good Man Charlie Brown” and was also nominated for his role as Carmen Ghia in “The Producers.”

    Susan Stroman, winner of the Tony Award for both direction and choreography for the original Broadway stage musical of “The Producers,” will direct and choreograph the fully staged production of THE PRODUCERS at the Hollywood Bowl. In 2005, Stroman made her directorial debut as a feature filmmaker with a film adaptation of “The Producers.” The movie was nominated for four Golden Globe Awards. The Musical Director for THE PRODUCERS at the Hollywood Bowl is Kevin Stites.

    From the brilliantly comedic mind of Mel Brooks comes this insanely funny adventure – a down-on-his-luck Broadway producer and his mild-mannered accountant concoct a get-rich scheme to bilk their investors out of millions by producing the most notorious flop in history. Based on Brooks’ Oscar-winning 1968 film, “The Producers,” with score and lyrics by Mel Brooks and a book by Mel Brooks and Thomas Meehan, became a Broadway smash hit winning a record-breaking 12 Tony Awards.

    THE PRODUCERS will have three performances only at the Hollywood Bowl -- Friday and Saturday, July 27 and 28, at 8:00pm, and Sunday, July 29, at 7:30pm. Single tickets are available in person at the Hollywood Bowl box office, by calling 323.850.2000 and at

    “The Producers” swept the 2001 Tony Awards, receiving the most awards in Broadway history, including Best Musical, Best Book of a Musical (Mel Brooks and Thomas Meehan), Best Original Score (Mel Brooks), Best Scenic Design (Robin Wagner), Best Costume Design (William Ivey Long), Best Lighting Design (Peter Kaczorowski), Best Orchestrations (Doug Besterman), Best Choreography and Best Direction of a Musical (Susan Stroman).

    “The Producers” received a record eleven 2001 Drama Desk Awards, including Outstanding Musical, Outstanding Director of a Musical, Outstanding Choreography, Outstanding Book of a Musical, Outstanding Lyrics, Outstanding Orchestrations, Outstanding Set Design of a Musical, and Outstanding Costume Design.

    “The Producers” received eight 2001 Outer Critics Awards, including Outstanding Broadway Musical, Outstanding Direction of a Musical, Outstanding Choreography, Outstanding Scenic Design, and Outstanding Costume Design.

    “The Producers” also received the 2001 New York Drama Critics’ Circle Award for Best Musical, the 2001 Drama League Award for Best Musical, an Astaire Award for Ms. Stroman’s choreography, and two 2002 Grammy Awards for Best Musical Show Album and Best Long Form Music Video.

    One of the largest natural amphitheaters in the world, with a seating capacity of nearly 18,000, the HOLLYWOOD BOWL has been the summer home of the Los Angeles Philharmonic since its official opening in 1922, and is home to the best and brightest in all genres of music. It remains one of the best deals in Los Angeles; to this day, $1 buys a seat at the top of the Bowl for many of the Los Angeles Philharmonic's concerts. The venue offers something for everyone, from its sizzling summer evening concerts to the daytime summer arts festival for children, “SummerSounds: Music for Kids at the Hollywood Bowl,” now in its 43rd season. In February 2012, the Hollywood Bowl was named Best Major Outdoor Concert Venue for the eighth year in a row at the 23rd Annual Pollstar Concert Industry Awards. The Hollywood Bowl has become synonymous with summer in Southern California.

    Friday and Saturday, July 27 and 28 at 8:00 pm Sunday, July 29 at 7:30 pm

    Susan Stroman, Direction and Choreography
    Kevin Stites, Musical Director
    Max Bialystock: Richard Kind
    Leo Bloom: Jesse Tyler Ferguson
    Ulla: Rebecca Romijn
    Roger De Bris: Gary Beach
    Carmen Ghia: Roger Bart


  • Contact:

    Sophie Jefferies  213.972.3422
    Lisa Bellamore 213.972.3689
    Tim Choy 323.954.7510 x13
    Peter Goldman 323.954.7510 x12